It’s okay to ask for help

Laura Ezekwe
2 min readSep 28, 2021

--

‘I hate asking for help. There is no need to ask for help. I mean. I’ve always helped other people. So, I can help myself too.'
That is what most of us sound like.

We've gotten so used to giving and not getting in return, that we've chosen to not even bother asking for help, even when we need it.

Whether emotionally, physically, financially, or spiritually. We all need help. We cannot handle everything by ourselves.

That is why we are social animals. We need each other to survive and thrive. Friends are not just for banter and pictures. Friends exist to support you in every way they can just like you support them.

Now I’m sure you’re thinking "what about friends who turn out to be enemies?" And you’ll be right. But that’s why we look out for good friends. Friends that do not help you on the journey of life are not good friends and you should try keeping your distance from them.

Now when I mean "help" I don’t just mean financially. Someone you can run to when you feel like the rest of the world is crashing down on you. Someone that when you speak to them you still sound sane, you know.

If that friend also makes you laugh, genuinely makes you feel good about yourself, they’re helping out massively.

And the best thing about good friends is that you guys don't even need to talk everyday. As long as you know that when you call this person, they'll answer. You're good.

I won’t lie, there was a time I really needed help. But somehow I thought my friends couldn’t help me. I struggled a lot before I got what I wanted. Something that if I had told one of my friends or literally anyone, I would have gotten a result almost immediately.

You might say it's pride. But its not, some people just have anxiety when it comes to asking for help.

Anyways, the moral of the story is to ask for help when you need it. Your friends might not be experts, but a problem shared, is a problem half solved!??

--

--

Laura Ezekwe

Hi. My name is Laura. I am a blogger, vlogger, and tech YouTube writer